• Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle

© 2015 - 2019 Emily Albright. All rights reserved.

 

Everyday Magic

The Heir and the Spare #2

For once, Maggie McKendrick just wants to control her own life. Her overbearing Hollywood director father has it all planned out for her: UCLA, law school, then working as an entertainment lawyer, preferably for him. But Maggie has other, more creative-spirit friendly, plans. Namely, Thrippletons School of Fashion and Design in England, and then onto becoming a designer, preferably a wildly successful one. The big snag in her plan? Getting it past her dad.

 

A movie shoot takes the family to the Scottish Highlands for the summer, and closer to Maggie’s dream school. While there, she runs into the charming Preston Browne. Maggie is intrigued and decides to bend her no guys rule—instituted after her ex used her to get close to her dad. Forced to keep secrets from Preston in order to protect the future plans she’s made, Maggie finds herself falling for the tall Brit. And for once in her life she knows that he’s interested in her, not her Hollywood connections. When Maggie's father blackmails her into dating his lead actor, she isn’t left with a choice. The biggest problem isn’t having to date hunky, mega-hottie, Ben Chambers. No, it’s praying she doesn’t lose Preston in the process.

 

Excelling at her dream school, Maggie’s personal life is a tangled mess. She needs to decide if living a lie is worth losing Preston or chance going against her father and facing his wrath. When the tabloids expose the truth of her fake relationship with Ben, Maggie's world is thrown into a tailspin. Ultimately, Maggie must find the courage to take risks and forge ahead on her own path.

Praise for

Everyday Magic

“Everyday Magic reads like teen fiction … but … the story will appeal to New Adult romance readers, as well. This book is clean-with-steam fun, the sort of read that feels like a guilty pleasure … but without the guilt. With royals, movie stars, fashion, scandal and an intense kiss or two, Everyday Magic is sure to be another contemporary romance win for author Emily Albright.”

     —USA Today Happy Ever After

“A sweet and charming novel that explores the complex relationships between friends, family and everything in between. Emily Albright really succeeded in creating a well-rounded story with a character that is multidimensional and extremely relatable. It was one of those books that I just couldn’t put down and really hooked me.”

     —Teenreads.com

“A sweet romance . . . [perfect] for fans of Sarah Dessen, Meg Cabot, and Nicholas Sparks.”

     —School Library Journal

“The romance is … sweet [and] … fans of the first book will love seeing Preston getting his turn in the spotlight … as he’s a great hero. The heroine is also well written, as her character grows and overcomes obstacles while chasing her dream. An enjoyable read with great character development.”

     – RT Book Reviews

"Emily Albright has a wonderful writing style and the pages flew by. I thoroughly enjoyed Maggie and Preston’s story."

     —Amy McKinley, Author of the Five Fates Series

"A modern day fairytale. It is a feel good story ... and can inspire young girls out there to go for their dreams regardless of their circumstances ... .The characters are so full of personality and spunk ... .EVERYDAY MAGIC is great if you are craving a light read that is both heartwarming and enjoyable. It is perfect for curling up with during the holiday season!"

     —YA Books Central